Summer Reading Program 2024

Summer Reading is a fun and exciting way to keep children's reading skills sharp during the summer! This summer we have an exciting variety of STEAM-filled programs! STEAM programs include Science, Technology, Engineering, Arts, and Math concepts. We are here to show you that learning can be fun. STEAM programs are sponsored in whole or part by a Libraries Accelerating Learning grant from the Ohio Department of Education and Workforce. 

Earn prizes all summer by reading! With each reading goal you meet, receive a small prize and enter to win one of our grand prizes (Kings Island tickets, $50 gift cards to Walmart, Amazon, the Cincinnati Zoo, and more). Track your reading with a paper reading log, or new this year - track your reading and enter to win prizes with the Beanstack App.

Register for the Summer Reading Program online here or stop in your local branch. Below is a schedule of events including weekly programs. 

 

Weekly Programs

Fayetteville-Perry Library

Young Voyagers - Ages 0-5
Mondays @ 11:00 am

Pro Pilots - Ages 11-18
Wednesdays @ 2:00 pm

Captain's Crew - Ages 18+
Wednesdays/Thursdays @ 5:30 pm

Georgetown Library

Preschool Pathfinders - Ages 0-5
Fridays @ 10:00 am

Junior Explorers - Ages 6-11
Fridays @ 11:00 am

Teen Trailblazers - Ages 12-17
Thursdays @ 5:30 pm

Mt. Orab Library

Little Explorers - Ages 0-5
Mondays @ 11:00am

Happy Campers - Ages 6-9
Thursdays @1:00pm

Trail Blazers - entering 6th grade and up
Chain Reactions with Kiwi Co. - Tuesday, June 11 @ 1:00 pm
Bad Art - Tuesday, June 25 @ 1:00 pm
Crime Scene Detectives with Cinci STEM Lab - Thursday, July 11 @ 5:30 pm

Sardinia Library

Little Explorers - Ages 0-5
Tuesdays @10:00 am

Daredevils - Ages 6-11
Tuesdays @11:00 am

Nomads - Ages 12-18
Wednesdays @ 5:30 pm

Family Programs

Animal Adventure with Family Traditions Animal Adventure
Thursday, May 23 @ 5:30pm – Georgetown Library

Mapcap Puppets presents the Wonderful Wizard of Oz
Friday, May 31 @ 6:00pm – Mt. Orab Community Park
sponsored by the OAC

One World, Many Cultures with Cincinnati Museum Center
Registration Required
Monday, June 10 @ 5:30pm – Sardinia Library
sponsored by the OAC

Magic Treasure Hunt with Tricky Max
Monday, June 10 @ 6:00pm – Georgetown Library

Adventures in Neverland with Darling Lane Entertainment
Tuesday, June 11 @ 6:00pm Mt. Orab Library

Princess Visit with Darling Lane Entertainment
Thursday, June 13 @ 5:30pm – Fayetteville-Perry Library

Wave on Wheels: Meet a Penguin with Newport Aquarium/Wave Foundation
Registration Required
Monday, June 17 @ 5:30pm – Sardinia Library

How to Train your Dragon with Renaissance Regina
Tuesday, June 18 @ 6:00pm Mt. Orab Library

Greece Lightening: Ancient Olympic Adventures with Bright Star Theatre
Thursday, June 20 @ 5:30pm – Fayetteville-Perry Library

Comets and Meteors with the Cincinnati Observatory
Monday, June 24 @ 5:30pm – Sardinia Library

Wrinkle in Time Slime with Cincinnati STEM Lab
Registration Required
Tuesday, June 25 @ 6:00pm – Mt. Orab Library

Adventures in Color Science with Crystal Clear Science
Thursday, June 27 @ 6:00pm – Fayetteville-Perry Library

Wave on Wheels: Meet a Penguin with Newport Aquarium/Wave Foundation
Special Location – Gaslight Theater in Georgetown
Saturday, June 29 @ 1:00pm

UFO’s Over Ohio with Author James A. Willis
Monday, July 1 @ 6:00pm – Sardinia Library

Huck Finn Hootenanny with Ohio History Connection and Sweet Harmony Acres Music
Tuesday, July 2 @ 6:00pm – Mt. Orab Library

Ohio’s Underground Railroad with John Rankin House and Ohio History Connection
Wednesday, July 3 @ 5:30pm – Fayetteville-Perry Library

Solar Ovens – Ooey, Gooey, Fun!
Saturday, July 6 @ 11:00am Georgetown Library

Snakes Alive! With Rick Teepen
Monday, July 8 @ 5:30pm – Georgetown Library

Uncovering Egypt with Cincinnati Museum Center
Registration Required  
Monday, July 8 @ 5:30pm – Sardinia Library

Rainforest Adventure with Cincinnati Museum Center
Registration Required
Tuesday, July 9 @ 6:00pm – Mt. Orab Library

Family STEM Challenge with Cincinnati STEM Lab
Wednesday, July 10 @ 5:30pm – Fayetteville-Perry Library

Drake Mobile Planetarium with the Drake Center
Monday, July 15 @ 3:30-6:30pm – Georgetown Library

Roaming Safari with Family Traditions Animal Adventure
Monday, July 15 @ 5:30pm – Sardinia Library

Curiosity Carnival sponsored by Milacron
Tuesday, July 16 @ 5:30pm – Mt. Orab Library

Snakes Alive! With Rick Teepen
Wednesday, July 17 @ 5:30pm – Fayetteville-Perry Library

Weird Ohio with Author James A. Willis
Saturday, July 20 @ 11:00am – Georgetown Library

Prize Picnic
Saturday, July 20 @ 12pm – Fayetteville-Perry Library

 

 

Ohio Art Council Logo